ASRM Announces Leadership of Affiliated Societies

San Antonio, TX - The American Society for Reproductive Medicine is pleased to announce the 2017-2018 leaders of its affiliated societies.  

Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology

SART is the primary organization of professionals dedicated to the practice of assisted reproductive technologies (ART) in the United States. ART includes the practice of In Vitro Fertilization (IVF). The mission of our organization is to set and help maintain the standards for ART in an effort to better serve our members and our patients. A

  • Serving as President, David Seifer, MD of Yale School of Medicine
  • Serving as President-elect: Amy Sparks, PhD, University of Iowa

Society of Reproductive Surgeons (SRS) 

The Society of Reproductive Surgeons was founded in 1984 to serve as a forum for members of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine with special interest and competency in reproductive surgery.

  • Serving as President: Samantha Pfeifer, MD of Cornell University
  • Serving as President-elect:  Bala Bhagavath, MD of Univ of Rochester Medical Center

Society of Reproductive Biologists and Technologists (SRBT) 

The mission of SRBT is to advance the continuous professional development of scientists and laboratory specialists working in all disciplines of Reproductive Biology and applied Assisted Reproductive Technologies (ART). SRBT promotes standards of excellence in research and laboratory applications.

  • Serving as President: Arthur Chang, PhD, HCLD/ELD/CC of the University of Texas
  • Serving as President-elect: Alison Coates, BSC, PhD, Oregon Reproductive Medicine

Society for Male Reproduction and Urology (SMRU) 

The mission of SMRU is to promote the advancement of our understanding of male reproductive physiology and management of male infertility by providing a forum for the dissemination of both basic and clinical research information and support of educational programs.

  • Serving as President: Cori Tanrikut, MD of Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Serving as President-elect:  Harris Nagler, MD of Mount Sinai Beth Israel

Society for Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility (SREI) 

SREI Membership requires certification by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology in both Obstetrics and Gynecology and the subspecialty of Reproductive Endocrinology. Associate Members are completing or have completed fellowship training in Reproductive Endocrinology, and are waiting to complete the Subspecialty Board Examination process.

  • Serving as President: Larry Layman, MD of Augusta University, Georgia 
  • Serving as President-elect: Bradley S. Hurst, MD, Carolinas HealthCare System


The American Society for Reproductive Medicine, founded in 1944, is an organization of more than 7,000 physicians, researchers, nurses, technicians and other professionals dedicated to advancing knowledge and expertise in reproductive biology.  Affiliated societies include the Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology, the Society for Male Reproduction and Urology, the Society for Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, the Society of Reproductive Surgeons and the Society of Reproductive Biologists and Technologists.


ASRM is a multidisciplinary organization dedicated to the advancement of the science and practice of reproductive medicine. The Society accomplishes its mission through the pursuit of excellence in education and research and through advocacy on behalf of patients, physicians, and affiliated health care providers. The Society is committed to facilitating and sponsoring educational activities for the lay public and continuing medical education activities for professionals who are engaged in the practice of and research in reproductive medicine. 


Looking for Additional Information?
Visit our provider site at

Find a Health Care Provider